The Mysore centre of Soil Mechanics and Foundation Engineering founded by Prof. B. K. Ramaiah started functioning at UVCE, Bangalore University, Bangalore since 1964. With advent of time the above centre was renamed as Karnataka Geotechnical Centre (KGC) Bangalore and became a local chapter of Indian Geotechnical Society. The society has been renamed to Indian Geotechnical Society Bangalore Chapter in February 2014.

Currently, the IGS Bangalore Chapter is situated in the Department of Civil Engineering, Indian Institute of Science. The Society is celebrating its golden jubilee in the year 2014. The society has long history of excellence in the field of Geotechnical Engineering nurtured by the outstanding commitment to the society and profession by several of its esteemed members.

IGS Bangalore Chapter has hosted the Asian Regional Conference ARC in 1975 and Indian Geotechnical conferences IGC in 1961, 1975, 1987, 1995 and 2008 and Asian International Young Geotechnical Engineers Conference  AYGEC 2008.
Prof. B. K. Ramaiah and Prof. A. Sridharan of the Chapter served as the presidents of Indian Geotechnical Society during 1975-77 and 1997-98 respectively.  Five of the total 16 recipients of the prestigious IGS – Kueckelmann award for their significant contributions to the profession belong to IGS Bangalore Chapter – Prof. T.S. Nagaraj (1990-91), Prof. A. Sridharan (1992-93), , Prof. K.S. Subba Rao (1996-97), Prof. B.R. Srinivasa Murthy (2002-03) and Prof. V. S. Chandrasekharan (2008-09). Prof. A. Sridharan will be delivering the IGS-Ferroco Terzaghi Oration in 2014. Several eminent members of the society have delivered the prestigious IGS Annual Lectures – Prof. A. Sridharan (1990), Prof. T.S. Nagaraj (1993), Prof. K.S. Subba Rao (1999), Prof. V. S. Chandrasekharan (2000) and Prof. B.R. Srinivasa Murthy (2012). Prof. P.V. Sivapullaiah, current chairman of the society will be delivering the IGC annual lecture during IGC 2014.